Arrowhead Advance is an online lender that offers short-term installment loans to borrowers with weak or damaged credit. The loans are issued by WLCC II, which does business as Arrowhead Advance. WLCC II is an entity of the Wakpamni Lake Community Corporation, a tribal corporation wholly owned by the Wakpamni Lake Community, a local government under the Oglala Sioux Tribe on the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota.
First-time borrowers can request between $100 and $1,500, repaid in installments that line up with their paydays. The typical customer has a job or steady benefits income, at least $1,000 in monthly take-home pay, and a credit history that banks have already turned down. The biggest draws are a short online application, approval decisions that do not rely on a traditional credit report, and funding that usually arrives the next business day after verification. The biggest drawback is cost: the lender publishes an APR range of 200% to 830%.
So should you consider it? Only for a small, genuine emergency that you can pay off quickly, and only after you have priced out cheaper options. Arrowhead Advance is open about its rates and ownership, but a $500 loan from this company can easily cost more than $1,000 to repay if you keep it for the full term.
Sites Like Arrowhead Advance
Star Loans
Loan amounts: up to $5,000 · Minutes online · Same or next business day funding
Olive The Money
Loan amounts: up to $5,000 · First-time borrower friendly · No perfect credit needed
Plus Loans
Loan amounts: up to $5,000 · Fully online · Bad credit considered
Blue Trust Loans
Great Plains Lending
WithU Loans
Arrowhead Advance Pros and Cons
Pros
- Tribal ownership and the issuing entity (WLCC II) are disclosed on the website and in the loan agreement.
- Applicants with low scores, charge-offs, bounced checks, or a discharged bankruptcy can still apply.
- The lender says it does not pull traditional credit reports, so applying does not affect your FICO score.
- No application, origination, setup, or prepayment fees are advertised.
- Finance charges are prorated to the days you hold the loan, so paying early cuts the total cost.
- Approved loans typically fund the next business day after verification.
- A loyalty program lowers finance charges and raises limits for repeat borrowers who pay on time.
- You can cancel within three days of being notified of approval by returning the funds.
Cons
- APRs run from 200% to 830%, far above credit cards, credit union loans, and most personal loans.
- First loans top out at $1,500.
- Residents of 23 states cannot apply.
- You need at least $1,000 in net monthly income.
- Payments are not reported to the major credit bureaus, so on-time repayment will not build your FICO score.
- The website does not list dollar amounts for late or NSF fees.
- Loan agreements are governed by Oglala Sioux Tribe law, and the lender states that state interest rate caps do not apply.
- Only one loan is allowed at a time, and phone support runs on weekdays only.
Is Arrowhead Advance Legit?
Yes, Arrowhead Advance is a real lender, not a scam site. It is a tribally owned business that publishes its legal entity name, its ownership chain, its APR range, and sample loan costs. Being legitimate, though, is not the same as being affordable or covered by your state’s consumer lending rules.
Who Actually Issues the Loans
Your lender of record is WLCC II, d/b/a Arrowhead Advance. It belongs to the Wakpamni Lake Community Corporation (WLCC), the economic development arm of the Wakpamni Lake Community. The Oglala Sioux Tribe is federally recognized, though the site notes that WLCC operates independently of the tribe itself. Arrowhead Advance is a direct lender, so you deal with the company that funds and services your loan rather than a matching service.
Which Laws Apply
The loan agreement says Oglala Sioux Tribe law governs the contract and that state laws, regulations, and interest rate limits do not apply. The company says it follows applicable tribal and federal law, and it links to a tribal lending license covering 2025 through 2027. A copy of the Tribal Credit Code is available by email at [email protected]. If a dispute cannot be settled with customer service, borrowers are directed to the Wakpamni Lake Community Consumer Complaint Tribal Hotline.
Disputes can also end up in arbitration rather than court. In 2021, a federal court in the Southern District of Alabama ordered additional AAA arbitration in a borrower’s case against WLCC II (Easeley v. WLCC II). Separately, in June 2026 the Washington State Department of Financial Institutions warned consumers that several other lending brands linked to the Wakpamni Lake Community Corporation were not licensed in Washington. Arrowhead Advance was not named in that alert, but it shows how state regulators view tribal lending tied to the same parent corporation.
Security and Reputation
The site uses SSL encryption, firewalls, and payment monitoring software to protect applications and account data. Reputation is the weaker side. Arrowhead Advance does not publish a founding date, it is not BBB accredited, and the small number of reviews on third-party sites leans negative, mostly over cost. The company does list a mailing address in Claymont, Delaware, and separate contact lines for applicants, customers, and past-due accounts.
State Availability
Arrowhead Advance does not accept applications from residents of Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia. The list can change, so check the application page before you start.
Arrowhead Advance Tribal Loan Amounts, Rates, and Terms
Arrowhead Advance offers one product: a short-term installment loan. You borrow a lump sum and repay it in equal installments tied to your pay schedule, rather than in a single balloon payment like a traditional payday loan.
New customers can qualify for $100 to $1,500. Your approved amount depends on your income and your existing payment obligations, so the full $1,500 is not available to everyone. Returning customers in the loyalty program can see higher limits over time, starting at $1,600 and reaching $3,800 at the top tier, subject to approval.
The published APR range is 200% to 830%, depending on loan length, fees, and other factors. The rates page gives sample loans on 14-payment schedules. A $500 bi-weekly loan at about 259% APR carries a finance charge of $474.27, for a total repayment of $974.27. At the high end, a $250 bi-weekly loan at about 776% APR costs $1,106.25 in total. Those are the lender’s own examples, and your actual terms appear in your loan agreement before you sign.
Payments can be scheduled weekly, bi-weekly, twice a month, or monthly, usually to match your paydays. You can pay by ACH from your checking account or by debit card. Paying more than the scheduled amount reduces principal, and because fees are prorated by the day, early payoff can save a meaningful amount. The website mentions late charges and NSF fees but does not publish their amounts, so read that section of your agreement carefully.
Approved loans typically fund the next business day after the lender verifies your information. Same day funding is not promised, and slow verification or bank posting can push the deposit back.
To be eligible, you need to be at least 18, a U.S. resident with a valid Social Security number, and have a checking account, an email address, and steady income of at least $1,000 a month after taxes. Active-duty service members and their dependents cannot borrow, and you must live in a state where the lender operates.
How to Apply for an Arrowhead Advance Loan
Confirm you qualify. Check that your state is not on the excluded list, that you take home at least $1,000 a month, and that you have an open checking account.
Complete the online application. The lender says it takes about two minutes on a phone or computer. You will enter your identity details, income, pay frequency, employer, and bank information, then e-sign the required consents.
Verify with a loan specialist. A representative reviews your file and may call you. The company confirms employment before funding, but says it does not tell your employer you are applying for a loan. If no one contacts you, first-time applicants can call (888) 459-1315.
Review and sign the loan agreement. Check the APR, finance charge, total of payments, payment dates, and late fee terms before you sign. If you have no printer, the company can email or fax the documents.
Receive your funds. If approved, the money typically lands in your checking account the next business day. You still have three days from the approval notice to cancel by emailing customer support and returning the funds.
Arrowhead Advance Login
Your Arrowhead Advance account is where you manage the loan after funding. To sign in, enter the email address and password you created during the application, then answer your security challenge question. If you forget your password, use the “Forget your password?” link on the sign-in page to reset it.
Inside the account you can:
View loan details, upcoming payments, payment history, and statements.
Make a scheduled payment, pay extra toward principal, or pay the loan off in full.
Choose your payment method, either ACH or a saved debit card.
Upload documents, add a bank account, or link your bank through a data partner or a statement upload.
Reprint loan documents.
Track loyalty points and rewards history.
Update your profile and opt out of marketing or loan-related calls, texts, and mail.
To change a payment by phone, call existing customer service at (800) 677-3860 at least three business days before the due date. Past-due borrowers can reach the collections team at [email protected]. Arrowhead Advance does not offer a dedicated mobile app, but the website and account area work in a mobile browser.
Arrowhead Advance Customer Reviews
Arrowhead Advance has a fairly thin review footprint. Only a few dozen borrower reviews are spread across sites like Trustpilot and BestCompany, so treat any star rating with caution. Still, the comments that do exist repeat the same themes.
On the positive side, borrowers mention a quick online application and money arriving the next business day. Some reviewers say the company was upfront about the rate before they signed, and several describe the phone staff as professional and polite.
Negative reviews outnumber the positive ones. Most focus on how much a small loan ends up costing. Reviewers describe borrowing a few hundred dollars and repaying two to three times that amount over several months. Others say early payments seemed to go mostly toward finance charges, leaving the principal barely reduced. A smaller group was denied after receiving a pre-approval offer by mail, and some call the follow-up marketing excessive.
Arrowhead Advance Complaints
APR and total cost. This is the most frequent complaint by a wide margin. With rates up to 830%, borrowers who keep a loan for its full term often pay back more than double what they received.
Slow principal reduction. Because early installments are weighted toward finance charges, some borrowers feel stuck. One reviewer reported being told that extra principal payments required covering the next finance charge as well. If you plan to pay down the balance, ask customer service exactly how an extra payment will be applied.
Fees. Arrowhead Advance does not charge origination or prepayment fees, but late charges and NSF fees exist and their amounts are not posted on the website. A returned ACH payment can also trigger a fee from your own bank.
Loan size and denials. Some applicants expect the full $1,500 and receive less based on income. Others report a denial after a mailed pre-approval offer, which the lender’s pre-approval language allows since final approval depends on verification.
Collections and customer service. Past-due accounts move to a collections team with its own phone numbers and email. Complaints in this area usually describe frequent contact rather than abusive practices. You can limit calls, texts, and mail through the contact preferences in your account.
Availability and legal protections. Borrowers in 23 states cannot apply. Elsewhere, the tribal governing law means state rate caps do not apply to the loan, and disputes may go to arbitration or the tribal complaint hotline. You can still file a complaint with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau or your state financial regulator if you believe the lender treated you unfairly.
Who Should Consider Arrowhead Advance?
Good for
- Borrowers with poor credit or a past bankruptcy who were turned down by banks and credit unions.
- People who need a few hundred dollars for an urgent bill and can repay it within weeks, not months.
- Applicants who want installment payments matched to their paydays instead of a single lump-sum payment.
- Repeat borrowers who pay on time and want to use loyalty discounts on future loans.
- Anyone who wants to avoid a hard inquiry on their traditional credit report.
Not ideal for
- Borrowers who can qualify for a credit union loan, a payday alternative loan, or a credit card cash advance at a lower rate.
- Anyone who needs more than $1,500 on a first loan.
- People who want to build credit, since payments are not reported to the major bureaus.
- Residents of the 23 excluded states, active-duty service members, and their dependents.
- Borrowers whose budget is already tight and who would likely need the full repayment term.
- Anyone who wants state lending protections such as interest rate caps.
Arrowhead Advance FAQ
Is Arrowhead Advance legit?
Yes. Arrowhead Advance is a real, tribally owned lender operated by WLCC II, an entity of the Wakpamni Lake Community Corporation under the Oglala Sioux Tribe. It discloses its ownership, APR range, and sample loan costs. That said, its loans are governed by tribal law rather than state lending rules, and its rates of 200% to 830% APR make it a costly way to borrow.
Is Arrowhead Advance a direct lender?
Yes. Arrowhead Advance funds and services its own loans, so your application is not sold to a network of other lenders. The lender of record on your agreement is WLCC II, d/b/a Arrowhead Advance. You make payments to the same company that approved you, and you deal with its own customer service and collections teams if questions or problems come up.
How much can I borrow from Arrowhead Advance?
First-time borrowers can be approved for $100 to $1,500. The exact amount depends on your monthly income and existing payment obligations, and many applicants receive less than the maximum. Repeat customers in the loyalty program may qualify for higher limits over time, up to $3,800 at the top level, if they keep paying on time and pass approval.
Does Arrowhead Advance check credit?
Many people search for Arrowhead Advance no credit check loans, but some screening does happen. The lender does not pull traditional credit reports and says your FICO score is not affected. It does run a limited check through DP Bureau and/or Teletrack, which are subprime credit bureaus. It also verifies income, employment, and banking details before approval.
How long does Arrowhead Advance approval take?
The online form takes a few minutes, but approval is not instant. A loan specialist must verify your information, which can include a phone call and employment confirmation. Once approved, funds typically arrive the next business day. Arrowhead Advance does not advertise same day loans, and delays are possible if verification takes longer or your bank posts deposits slowly.
How does the Arrowhead Advance login work?
Sign in on the Arrowhead Advance website with the email and password you created when you applied, then answer your security challenge question. From the account you can make or schedule payments, pay extra toward principal, view statements, reprint loan documents, and manage contact preferences. If you lose your password, use the “Forget your password?” link on the sign-in page.
Does Arrowhead Advance have an app?
No. Arrowhead Advance does not offer a dedicated Android or iOS app. You can still apply, sign in, and make payments from a phone, since the website and account area work in a mobile browser. Bookmark the official sign-in page so you avoid look-alike apps or sites not connected to the lender.
What are sites like Arrowhead Advance?
Sites like Arrowhead Advance include other online installment and tribal lenders that work with borrowers who have bad credit. The lenders featured above are worth comparing before you apply. Look at APR, the total repayment amount, the maximum first loan, state availability, and whether payments are reported to credit bureaus. Even a small APR difference can save hundreds of dollars.
Can I get an Arrowhead Advance loan with bad credit?
You can apply with bad credit. Arrowhead Advance says it considers applicants with low scores, charge-offs, bounced checks, and discharged bankruptcies. Approval is not guaranteed, though. You still need at least $1,000 in monthly take-home pay, a checking account, and information that passes verification. Some applicants who received a mailed pre-approval offer report being denied after the full review.
Is Arrowhead Advance available in my state?
It depends on where you live. Arrowhead Advance does not lend in 23 states, including New York, Pennsylvania, Georgia, Illinois, North Carolina, and Virginia, as well as South Dakota, where its parent community is based. The full list appears in the legitimacy section above. Residents of other states may apply, but the list can change, so confirm on the application page.
What is the Arrowhead Advance phone number?
New applicants can call (888) 459-1315. Existing customers can reach customer service at (800) 677-3860. Both lines are open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Mountain Time, Monday through Friday. You can also email [email protected] or use live chat on the website. Past-due accounts are handled by a separate collections team.
Can I pay off an Arrowhead Advance loan early?
Yes. There is no prepayment penalty, and finance charges are prorated to the days you hold the loan, so paying early lowers your total cost. You can pay extra or pay in full through your online account by ACH or debit card. Before sending an extra payment, ask customer service how it will be applied so it reduces principal.
